The National Poetry Series was established in 1978 to recognize and promote excellence in contemporary poetry.

Meet the Winners of the 2023 Competition

NPS 2023 Winners

Latest Publications Discover the 2022 National Poetry Series titles

Writers on the National Poetry Series


I know of no program more vital to the launching of a poet’s career than The National Poetry Series. For over 30 years, 5 poets annually have enjoyed the immense benefit of having their manuscripts transformed into handsome books by some of the most prestigious publishers in the country. Measured by these hard, practical results alone, the Series deserves the support of every devotee of poetry. My own Questions About Angels, selected by Edward Hirsch in 1990, marked the true beginning of my public life in poetry.

Billy Collins

Latest News

The National Poetry Series congratulates the five winners of the 2023 National Poetry Series Competition: Field Guide for Accidents by Albert Abonado Chosen by Mahogany L. Browne for Beacon Press Post-Volcanic Folk Tales by Mackenzie Schubert Poloyni Donnelly Chosen by Ishion Hutchinson for Akashic Books The Sky Was Once A Dark Blanket by Kinsale Drake Chosen by Jacqueline Trimble for University of Georgia Press Playing With The Jew by Ava Winter Chosen by Sean Hill
Read More
The National Poetry Series is proud to announce the five winners of the 2022 Open Competition, whose works will be published next year by our participating publishers: Organs of Little Importance by Adrienne Chung Chosen by Solmaz Sharif for Penguin Books Tender Headed by Olatunde Osinaike Chosen by Camille Rankine for Akashic Books Survival Strategies by Tennison S. Black Chosen by Adrienne Su for University of Georgia Press I Love Information by Courtney Bush Chosen
Read More
The National Poetry Series and Miami Book Fair are proud to announce that Oneyda Gonzalez is the winner of this year’s Paz Poetry Prize for an original manuscript of Spanish language poetry. The National Poetry Series, in collaboration with Miami Dade College’s (MDC) acclaimed Miami Book Fair, with the National Poetry Series, is pleased to announce the 2022 Paz Prize for Poetry winner: Cuban poet Oneyda Gonzalez for her manuscript El lazo infinito. Born in
Read More

Participating Publishers