Announcing the Winners of the 2018 Competition Posted in: News

The National Poetry Series is proud to announce the winners of the 2018 Open Competition. The selected five manuscripts have been chosen from more than than 1,500 submissions.  With gratitude to our judges and publishing partners, we are thrilled to present the work of these emerging authors, whose prize-winning books will be published in Fall 2019.

Fear of Description by Daniel Poppick
Chosen by Brenda Shaughnessy for Penguin Books

Valuing by Christopher Kondrich
Chosen by Jericho Brown for University of Georgia Press

Eyes Bottle Dark with a Mouthful of Flowers by Jake Skeets
Chosen by Kathy Fagan for Milkweed Editions

It’s Not Magic by Jon Sands
Chosen by Richard Blanco for Beacon Press

Nervous System by Rosalie Moffett
Chosen by Monica Youn for Ecco


« 2019 National Poetry Series Winners
Johanny Vazquez Paz Awarded 2018 Paz Prize for Poetry »

Share your thoughts